Australia - AgCredited

Institution/Organization offering the Certificate

Australian Institute of Agriculture, Science and Technology (AIAST), now to be called the  "Ag Institute of Australia”

Name of the Certificate

AgCredited, with the option for a Specialist Accreditation in up to three discipline areas


Contact information

John Kent,

What is the target group?

All professionals in agriculture and natural resource management including all those in commercial agribusinesses, or the public sector who teach, undertake research, or give specific technical, financial, managerial or policy advice to farmers, agribusiness, catchment managers, community groups, government agencies, public utilities and potential investors in the broad range of disciplines that could be applied to those sectors. It is also applicable to those who undertake activities as a consultant or contractor and members of specialist professional groups and societies.

What are the entry requirements?

Member of Ag Institute of Australia and payment of accreditation fee (see below)

What are the desired outcomes / learning objectives of this program in terms of skills, knowledge, attitudes?


Demonstrated experience in five core competencies (Communication, OH&S, Professional Risk Management, Project Management and Enhancing Professional Practice)

AgCredited (specialization):

The above, plus demonstrated competency in a maximum of three of the following specialist areas: Farm Business Management, Crop Agronomy, Livestock Production, Horticulture & Specialty Cropping, Finance and Agribusiness Management, Research and Development, Extension/Adoption/Capacity Building, NRM/Environmental Management, Irrigation and Water Management, Human Resource Management, Legal/Loss Assessment, Education & Training and/or Project Management

What is the structure and duration? Part time/full time?

The structure is based on participants’ completing the requirements mentioned below. It is part time.

Requirements are:

1.                   successful completion of the 5 core competency units (skill set) at Level 5 (Diploma) of the Australian Quality Training Framework

2.                   three years relevant work experience

3.                   signing Ag Institute of Australia Code of Ethics

4.                   payment of accreditation fees

5.                   membership in Ag Institute of Australia

For Specialist Accreditation:

6.                   accredited member of Ag Institute Australia

7.                   completion of at least 3 approved specialist Units of Competency at level 5 or above OR completion of a specialist higher education Graduate certificate, Gradate Diploma, Masters or PhD

Where are the courses as such held? Online/face to face? At which institution?

If the participant needs to take courses they are available online as a Skills Set through CSU Training, the Registered Training Organization of Charles Stuart University.

What kind of “assignments” need to be completed? Is there an experiential learning component? A research project or thesis?

Core Competency Units can be completed by one of three ways:

1.             online coursework (as mentioned above)

2.             recognizing assessment by providing evidence of competency

3.             credit transfer for any of the units completed with another Registered Training Organization

What is the cost of this certificate? (e.g., tuition cost; or describe funding model)

$2,500 with an ongoing annual fee of around $55* (to be finalized)

Participants or their employers are responsible for the cost.

Is this certification linked with a professional association? Is the certificate a pre-requisite for membership? Does a professional association provide oversight of this program or merely an endorsement?

Yes, with Ag Institute Australia. Certification is not a prerequisite for membership, but only members are offered the certification.

Does this certification result in a license to practice in extension? Is such a license (or certificate) mandatory to practice or just optional?


Is there a requirement for maintaining the certification (e.g., CCA has to do 40 hours of continued education every 2 years)

Yes, there are three requirements for maintaining accreditation:

1.    Completion of a minimum of 30 points relevant professional development annually that can come from; formal study such as a degree or a short course, active participation in a workshop or study tour, or professional activities over and above normal work. Each type of professional development is valued at a different number of points.

2.    Evidence of continued professional involvement (such as certified copies of qualification certificates, evidence of attendance at an event plus a brief summary of professional development outcomes and benefits, certified third party reports or references, independent workplace assessment, and/or copies of publications, reports, presentations or submissions)

3.    Payment to the Ag Institute of an annual Accreditation fee when Institute membership is renewed

Note: To maintain Specialist Accreditation, a minimum of 10 points of the 30 points of annual professional development plus professional involvement in each specialist discipline is required.

Who provides oversight for this program? (Accreditation)

Ag Institute Australia

Additional Comments

* This is a revamped version of a now defunct certification program that was piloted a few years ago. An Accreditation Committee of the AIAST was formed to refine the new framework for accreditation. The new framework is described in this document, but won’t actually go into effect until January 2012.  Because of this the exact cost of the program or yearly dues is still uncertain.